Looking for A Reliable Used Car for about $3000 MAX in Las Vegas- What are the odds I can find one?

Hi Everyone!

I am new to Klipnik and my hubby and I are both teachers and we need a used car that has enough room for our growing twins (They are 10 and very busy with activities) and the Ford Focus we have is way too small for these tall people and their busy schedules. I had a Toyota Sienna but it has recently died.

I would love to know if you know a Make/ Model that you’d recommend OR if YOU have one that you would be interested in selling! I need this car as soon as possible- but with our insanely HOT Summer weather- it cannot leave us stranded on the side of the road! :slight_smile:

I would love any suggestions or advice!

Thanks! :oncoming_automobile:
Molly

Welcome, Molly! You’ve come to the right place. You can definitely find a reliable car for $3000, but it may take a little bit of digging. Here are some ideas to get you started.

One possibility would be to find a car that a friend or relative is planning to trade in for something new. If they’ll sell to you instead (at the trade in value), that would be a good way into a well-known car for less cash.

I also recommend visiting a local mechanic, ideally someone you’ve worked with and that you trust (or who at least has excellent Yelp reviews), to see if they know of any clients who are planning to sell a well-maintained car. If the mechanic already knows the car has been properly serviced, that’s a huge plus. (Here’s a related article: http://www.klipnik.com/used-cars/buying-tips/the-first-step-to-buying-a-great-used-car-is-finding-a-great-mechanic/)

Finally, you can search craigslist for cars for sale by owner and look for examples that seem to have been well taken care of but that maybe have faded paint or other light cosmetic issues which don’t really affect how the car drives. That can lower the price on an otherwise excellent vehicle quite dramatically.